Shopping Cart

Adrian Ancer hit with controversial bunker penalty


Abraham Ancer completed Thursday on the Masters with a one-over par 73, a stable rating on a tough day at Augusta.

Or so he thought.

After his spherical was over, guidelines officers delivered unhealthy information. He was being penalized two strokes for a bunker infraction on No. 15. 

Penalty places Ancer on flawed aspect of lower line

Instead of the bogey six he signed on his card, he scored a triple-bogey eight. His beforehand comfy 73 is now a dangerous three-over 75 that can have him battling the lower line from the opening tee on Friday. The prime 50 gamers and ties make the lower into the weekend at Augusta. Ancer’s three-over is sweet for a 52nd-place tie after Day 1. 

Per a James B. Hyler, chairman of the Masters competitors committee:

“On the 15th hole during Thursday’s first round, Abraham Ancer unknowingly touched the sand before making his third stroke from the greenside bunker.

“After Mr. Ancer had signed his scorecard and exited the scoring space, video proof was reviewed by the Committee concerning a possible breach of Rule 12.2b(1), which states that touching sand in a bunker proper behind the ball ends in a penalty.”

Is this a violation?

Ancer tweeted news of the penalty along with video of the infraction Thursday evening. If you’re not familiar with the rules of golf, players are not allowed to touch the sand behind the ball with their club. Doing so could improve their lie. 

Here’s what drew the two-stroke penalty.

Per the rules, if the infraction isn’t visible to the naked eye, it’s not deemed a penalty. Ancer apparently was not aware of the alleged violation at the time or when he signed his scorecard. 

Hyler ruled that Ancer’s violation was, in fact, “seen to the bare eye” in his ruling: 

“The touching of the sand was deemed seen to the bare eye. Had this not been the case, the video proof would have been disregarded and a penalty wouldn’t have been utilized.”

Can you see the foundations violation right here?

Abraham Ancer of Mexico walks up the first fairway during the first round of the Masters at Augusta National Golf Club on April 08, 2021 in Augusta, Georgia. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Abraham Ancer picked up two penalty strokes and can battle the lower line on Friday. Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

More from Yahoo Sports:

Pinemeadow Golf - Custom Golf Clubs

Read extra: https://sports.yahoo.com/abraham-ancer-docked-2-strokes-for-questionable-penalty-011917148.html?src=rss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission from Amazon And Other Brands for purchases made through these links.