Shopping Cart

Annika Sorenstam survives rules blunder to make cut at Gainbridge


It definitely wasn’t simple — or honest, for that matter — however Annika Sorenstam made the cut at the Gainbridge LPGA.

The Hall of Famer, 50, might be taking part in into the weekend in her first LPGA occasion in 13 years. She’s solely taking part in this week as a one-time factor after her preliminary retirement in 2008, because the LPGA has stopped at her dwelling course.

Sorenstam shot a 1-under 71 on Friday, considerably higher than Thursday’s 3-over 75. She simply barely snuck into the weekend proper on the cutline at 2-over, and trails chief Lydia Ko by 12 strokes at Lake Nona Golf and Country Club in Orlando, Florida.

“I did what I could,” Sorenstam mentioned, via The Associated Press. “The goal was to shoot under par and I did, so that’s all I can do.”

Sorenstam survives rule blunder

Sorenstam bumped into bother in her opening spherical on Thursday, as she hit her tee shot on the fifth gap below the gate of a neighbor’s fence that backed up to the course.

As the gate was unlocked, Sorenstam requested the rules official at the outlet if she might open the gate and play her shot because it was. The official, nevertheless, advised her that wasn’t allowed.

So, she took a drop and completed the outlet with a triple bogey after three-putting on the inexperienced.

As it seems, nevertheless, the official was flawed.

The Rules of Golf underwent an enormous overhaul in 2019, and gates at the moment are thought-about movable obstructions so long as they don’t seem to be locked. So Sorenstam shouldn’t have been penalized at all — one thing the official realized later and apologized for on Friday.

“He wanted to apologize. He said he was wrong. I could have opened the gate and I could’ve played,” Sorenstam mentioned, via The Associated Press. “But he said, ‘This is going to hurt me. This is eating me inside.’ I said, ‘Please, please don’t feel that way.’ I appreciate it. He said, ‘I won’t make that mistake again.’ I said, ‘Well, I won’t hit there anymore.’

“You know, those things happen. The rules have changed. That’s the way it goes.”

The LPGA apologized for the error on Friday, too, however mentioned there was nothing that they might do.

In the tip, the rules blunder didn’t price Sorenstam two extra rounds at the match — one thing she’s showing to have a good time taking part in in. With 72 profession wins below her belt already, she isn’t too burdened about including one other to her assortment.

“The goal was to be a little bit more aggressive. I was at times, not as much as I should have,” she mentioned, via The Associated Press. “Overall, I’m very pleased. A little chip-in there didn’t hurt. But yeah, I look at it as a great round. I’m not going to analyze it too much.”

Annika Sorenstam of Sweden at the 2021 Gainbridge LPGA

A rules official apologized to Annika Sorenstam on Friday for an incorrect ruling, one thing that almost price her a spot this weekend at the Gainbridge LPGA. (Cliff Hawkins/Getty Images)

More from Yahoo Sports:

Pinemeadow Golf - Custom Golf Clubs

Read extra: https://sports.yahoo.com/lpga-annika-sorenstam-survives-rule-mistake-cut-gainbridge-tournament-error-003101265.html?src=rss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission from Amazon And Other Brands for purchases made through these links.