Shopping Cart

Mexican Ancer hit with two-stroke penalty at Masters


(Reuters) – Abraham Ancer was handed a two-stroke penalty after the primary spherical of the Masters on Thursday after his membership touched the sand earlier than hitting a shot from a greenside bunker, Augusta National stated, adjusting his rating to a three-over-par 75 from a 73.

The infraction got here at the par-five fifteenth and the penalty means the Mexican made a triple-bogey at the opening, leaving him in a tie for 52nd place, 10 strokes behind chief Justin Rose.

“After Mr. Ancer had signed his scorecard … video evidence was reviewed by the Committee regarding a potential breach of Rule 12.2b(1), which states that touching sand in a bunker right behind the ball results in a penalty,” Augusta National stated.

“The touching of the sand was deemed visible to the naked eye. Had this not been the case, the video evidence would have been disregarded and a penalty would not have been applied.”

Ancer, enjoying in his second Masters, stated he had been knowledgeable the penalty was for “unintentionally grazing the sand” with his backswing.

“While I’m gutted, I can’t wait to get after it tomorrow,” he tweeted.

(Reporting by Manasi Pathak in Bengaluru; Editing by Peter Rutherford)

Pinemeadow Golf - Custom Golf Clubs

Read extra: https://sports.yahoo.com/mexican-ancer-hit-two-stroke-032131222.html?src=rss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission from Amazon And Other Brands for purchases made through these links.