Shopping Cart

Obscure rule surfaces on consecutive holes in WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play semifinals


AUSTIN, Texas — As Matt Kuchar lined up his putt on the twelfth gap throughout Sunday’s semifinal match on the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play he did so below an odd situation, figuring out that his opponent was standing nicely behind him — nonetheless lining up a wedge.

The purpose was a unusual match play rule that surfaced at Austin Country Club when Scottie Scheffler put his second shot into the water on the par-5 twelfth gap. Kuchar had already hit his second shot and was sitting on the entrance of the inexperienced.

Under the principles of match play, nevertheless, Scheffler’s ball is taken into account nearer to the opening due to the place it was resting. That meant Kuchar needed to putt whereas Scheffler stood 77 yards from the pin with a wedge in hand.

Golfweek’s guidelines knowledgeable, Ron Gaines, stated it is a situation that not often presents itself.

“It’s an oddball, for sure,” Gaines stated. “But this is determined by where the ball comes to rest, not where it crosses the margin of the penalty. Think of it as a penalty without water. You might go up and see if you can play it. Technically, Kuchar is farther away, because it’s where the ball is resting, not where they’re going to play it from.”

Scheffler was 2 up on the time, however misplaced the opening and moved on to the chance/reward par-4 thirteenth.

Incredibly, the very same situation performed out once more as Scheffler’s drive landed simply shy of the inexperienced in the water hazard.

Kuchar was now 90 yards from the flag and Scheffler stood nicely behind him, ready to play from 177 yards.

Kuchar pulled the match all sq. after the peculiar two-hole stretch.

Nick Faldo stated on the Golf Channel broadcast to guidelines official Steve Rintoul that he was unfamiliar with the rule.

“I’ve got Paul Azinger in the tower, we’ve been match players now for 40 years and didn’t even know this was a match play rule, and considering we’ve been calling the match play all these years, this is the first time I’ve experienced this kind of situation,” Faldo stated.

The falls below USGA rule 6.4: Order of Play When Playing Hole.
Under the principles, had Scheffler performed his shot first, Kuchar would have had the choice to cancel the stroke. In different phrases, if Scheffler put his ball in tight to the flag, Kuchar might have nullified the shot.

The rule states:

In match play, the order of play is key; if a participant performs out of flip, the opponent could cancel that stroke and make the participant play once more.

Pinemeadow Golf - Custom Golf Clubs

Read extra: https://sports.yahoo.com/obscure-rule-surfaces-consecutive-holes-181112214.html?src=rss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission from Amazon And Other Brands for purchases made through these links.