Shopping Cart

Patrick Reed denies cheating at Farmers Insurance Open

Patrick Reed is at it once more. Or at least loads of golf followers assume he’s at it once more.

Everyone’s favourite golfer to hate encountered yet one more controversy at the Farmers Insurance Open on Saturday, when an uncommon resolution led to accusations that Reed had cheated by choosing up a ball he claimed to have been embedded.

The sequence of occasions on the tenth gap at Torrey Pines principally went like this: Reed hits the ball out of a bunker. The ball veers to the left of the inexperienced and bounces as soon as earlier than touchdown in some thick tough. Reed arrives at the ball and asks a volunteer if it bounced. Volunteer says “No, I didn’t see it bounce.” Reed broadcasts he’s going to verify the ball and picks it up. Reed places it down and calls over guidelines official. Reed tells guidelines official the ball didn’t bounce and asks him to evaluate if the ball broke floor. Rules official concurs the ball broke floor and grants Reed embedded ball aid. Reed goes up and down for par with a significantly better lie.

Here’s the shot (and bounce):

And right here’s the aftermath:

So, the place did Reed go (or do) unsuitable in all that?

First, loads of golf followers, in addition to CBS analysts, have been skeptical {that a} ball may get embedded after bouncing. Reed’s ball solely bounced a number of toes within the air, so questions of physics abound right here.

Second, Reed’s order of operations — choosing up the ball, calling over the foundations official, telling him it didn’t bounce — positive had the look of an individual who was attempting to get away with turning a nasty lie into an embedded ball ruling. He theoretically may have even created the indent by pushing into the bottom whereas choosing up the ball or pointing it out to the foundations official.

The spherical on Saturday was being performed with most popular lies as a consequence of latest rain, however that doesn’t apply to balls within the tough.

Patrick Reed defends embedded ball declare

SAN DIEGO, CA - JANUARY 30: Patrick Reed walks off the seventh tee box during the third round of the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines South on January 30, 2021 in San Diego, California. (Photo by Ben Jared/PGA TOUR via Getty Images)

Only Patrick Reed. (Photo by Ben Jared/PGA TOUR through Getty Images)

After the spherical, Reed defended his actions in interviews with CBS and Golf Channel, claiming he didn’t see the ball land or bounce and reiterating he had been advised by the volunteer the ball didn’t bounce.

“When we’re out there, we can’t see everything,” Reed mentioned to CBS. “When that happens, you have to go by what the volunteers say, what the rules officials say. When all comes push and shove, we feel like we did the right thing and the rules official said we did it absolutely perfectly. With that being said, we moved on and just continued playing.”

When talking to Golf Channel, nevertheless, Reed conceded “the ball did bounce” and mentioned it’s “literally impossible” for a ball to embed on a bounce.

Some golfers weren’t amused whereas watching the scenario play out, together with Reed’s competitor Michael Gellerman and the LPGA’s Marina Alex.

PGA guidelines official agrees with Patrick Reed

While many known as for Reed to be penalized, one particular person taking Reed’s aspect was PGA guidelines official Ken Tackett. In an interview with CBS’s Jim Nantz, Tackett mentioned he believed Reed acted appropriately on the tenth gap.

“He went through the process,” Tackett mentioned. “Everyone felt the ball disappeared off the shot, the volunteer said it didn’t bounce, he checked to see if it was embedded, he called an official … He did all the things we ask to do of a player. It’s difficult, you get to second-guessing when you see video. Soft conditions, there’s a lot of variables out there.

“We’re fine with the outcome of the situation.”

Patrick Reed defends embedded ball declare … once more

Perhaps sensing {the golfing} world was nonetheless criticizing him, Reed jumped onto Twitter to yell at an account with about 100 followers that Rory McIlroy had performed the identical factor that day.

A bizarre tweet obtained even weirder when a special account with a historical past of defending Reed tweeted the exact same thing, resulting in accusations that Reed was utilizing a burner account to defend himself.

Reed will get zero good thing about the doubt

This sort of controversy solely appears to occur with Reed today, for apparent causes. Accusations of cheating have followed Reed from his college days, and got here to a head when Reed got caught blatantly cheating at the 2019 Hero World Challenge. Not serving to issues was when his caddy — and brother-in-law — got into an altercation with a spectator at the Presidents Cup within the wake of the accusations.

So even when Reed genuinely believed the ball didn’t bounce, requested everybody obtainable to double verify and noticed a ball improbably embedded within the floor, some will discover it arduous to consider that he solely made an trustworthy mistake. And if Reed noticed the ball bounce on video after saying a ball couldn’t embed off a bounce, you must surprise why he wouldn’t take a penalty.

The remainder of Reed’s spherical didn’t play out very properly both, as he went from a four-stroke lead after the fateful tenth gap to 4 bogies on the again 9, sitting tied for the lead with Carlos Ortiz at 10-under at the top of the third spherical.

More from Yahoo Sports:

Pinemeadow Golf - Custom Golf Clubs

Read extra:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission from Amazon And Other Brands for purchases made through these links.