Shopping Cart

Scott Harrington DQ’ed; Jimmy Walker hit with penalty but survives cut at Valspar Championship


PALM HARBOR, Fla. – Scott Harrington was disqualified from the Valspar Championship after the second spherical for signing an incorrect scorecard.

The DQ was a mere formality as Harrington, 40, had shot 1-over 72, which mixed with his opening-round 4-over 75, would have been a number of pictures too many as a way to stick round and play on the week. Still, it continues to be confounding why signing an incorrect scorecard (Rule 6-6d) continues to be handled as if it’s the early twentieth century when in as we speak’s day and age each shot is measured by ShotLink and more than likely recorded. It’s virtually equally onerous to clarify why gamers proceed to make scoring errors.

Jimmy Walker practically joined Harrington as a DQ. He was penalized two strokes for being late to his 7:39 am tee time in Group 44 on Friday (Rule 5.3A).

Walker, whose final victory on the PGA Tour is the 2016 PGA Championship, was on the vary when a guidelines official notified him that he had one minute to get to the primary tee. He arrived too late.

Had Walker arrived greater than 5 minutes late, he would have been disqualified. Walker had so as to add two strokes to his rating on the par-5 first gap, turning a 5 right into a double-bogey 7. He rallied with 5 birdies in his ultimate 13 holes to signal for 2-under 69 and made the cut on the quantity at 1-under 141 at Innisbrook’s Copperhead Course.

On social media, he posted: “Pro tip….don’t be late for your tee time. Thirty years in tourney golf and that’s a first…”

Pinemeadow Golf - Custom Golf Clubs

Read extra: https://sports.yahoo.com/scott-harrington-dq-ed-jimmy-042638485.html?src=rss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission from Amazon And Other Brands for purchases made through these links.