Over the weekend, Rory McIlroy obtained pulled into Patrick Reed’s mess when Reed introduced up his identify amid accusations of dishonest.
It was an ordeal that left McIlroy second-guessing himself. But on Monday, McIlroy obtained validation that he did the appropriate factor.
Patrick Reed accused of dishonest
The saga began Saturday on the Farmer’s Insurance Open at Torrey Pines.
Reed confronted dishonest accusations after he picked up his ball with out verification from a guidelines official. Thanks to the moist situations, gamers have been allowed aid from embedded balls.
Reed, who went on to win the match, declared his method shot on the tenth gap as embedded after a volunteer advised him that she didn’t see it bounce. Only after he picked up his ball did he name for a guidelines official.
Video of the shot exhibits that Reed’s ball took a brief bounce earlier than reaching its touchdown spot, casting doubt amongst viewers over whether or not the ball was legitimately embedded.
Only Reed, his caddie and the volunteer knew if his ball was truly embedded earlier than he dropped it for a greater lie.
But what about Rory?!
Reed, who has a well-established casual relationship with golf’s rules, heard the criticism and tried to flip the script with some textbook whataboutism geared toward McIlroy. McIlroy had also chosen to take relief without the aid of a rules official on the 18th gap, some extent Reed made in all caps on his Twitter account.
The PGA backed each gamers’ choices in a ruling entrenched in one in all golf’s most simple tenets. Golf is a recreation of honor, and gamers are anticipated to do the honorable factor on their very own. So the PGA took each gamers for his or her phrase.
“It was reasonable for both players to conclude — based on the fact that they did not see the ball land, but given the lie of the ball in soft course conditions — that they proceed as the rule allows for a potential embedded ball,” a PGA assertion learn amid the controversy.
McIlroy, not like Reed, doesn’t have a long-established reputation of skirting golf’s rules and hasn’t ceded the benefit of the doubt in these conditions. Nevertheless, the ordeal made McIlroy second-guess himself.
“Did I do the right thing? Did I play by the rules? Did I see something that wasn’t there?” McIlroy told reporters from the Waste Management Phoenix Open on Wednesday. “I just started to doubt myself a little bit, which is not like me. But I was convinced that it was an embedded ball.”
Someone stepped on McIlroy’s ball
He additionally revealed that his resolution has since been validated. He mentioned a volunteer admitted to the PGA that he had stepped on McIlroy ball — info McIlroy didn’t have when he took aid, however confirms that his ball had been embedded.
“The Tour got an email on Monday that it had been stepped on and the volunteer said something like, ‘I’m so sorry that Rory is being dragged into this scenario, but I didn’t tell him that I actually stood on his ball to find it,’” McIlroy mentioned.
Now, McIlroy has verification for his resolution. As for Reed, we’re left to take him for his phrase.
More from Yahoo Sports: